Democratic Civility

Imagine what the media blitz would look like if a conservative politician launched such an attack on a Democrat?

Always-outspoken state Sen. Rickey Hendon on Saturday took aim at Republican gubernatorial nominee Bill Brady at a “get out the vote” rally on the West Side.

“I’ve never served with such an idiotic, racist, sexist, homophobic person in my life,” Hendon said before introducing Gov. Quinn. “If you think that the minimum wage needs to be three dollars an hour, vote for Bill Brady. If you think that women have no rights whatsoever, except to have his children, vote for Bill Brady. If you think gay and lesbian people need to be locked up and shot in the head, vote for Bill Brady.”

Quinn tried to distance himself from the remarks, telling reporters, “I don’t associate myself with those comments.”

“I believe in civility,” he said. “I disagree with people in politics, like my opponent Sen. Brady. I don’t engage in name calling. Never have, never will.”

Hendon later told the Chicago Sun-Times that his harsh characterization of Brady, a state senator from Downstate Bloomington, was based on the candidate’s voting record. Hendon claims Brady has regularly voted against bills that have affirmative-action components that affect minorities, women and gays.

And Hendon says he won’t take it back.

“Look, I just told the truth,” said Hendon, who is running for Chicago mayor. “I know this man, and I serve with him. If he can show me that he votes differently than what I said, I will apologize. But he can’t say that. I know he can’t.”

So here we have a positively loony colorful Democrat politician that feels that he can declare a Republican candidate supports shooting gays in the head based on his voting record. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

Rick Moran at American Thinker wants to know what bills they’ve been voting on in Illinois to substantiate this record.

If he’s basing his disgusting smears on Brady’s “voting record,” maybe he wants to tell us about the bill Brady voted for that would have taken away all women’s rights except the right to make babies; or maybe the bill that would have specifically banned shooting gays in the head that Brady voted against.

But of course, these smears will not be disavowed, and Democrats will continue to claim that Republicans are being uncivil in their campaigns while continuing to circulate this garbage.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

