Corey Haim Dies at 38

CNN has the story:

Former 1980s teen movie actor and heartthrob Corey Haim died early Wednesday, authorities said.

Haim, 38, was taken to Providence St. Joseph Medical Center in Burbank, California, where he was pronounced dead at 2:15 a.m. PT (5:15 a.m. ET), said Lt. Cheryl MacWillie, a spokeswoman for the Los Angeles County coroner’s office. The hospital is a mile from Haim’s apartment.

A 911 call came in just before 1 a.m. PT (4 a.m. ET), said police Sgt. William Mann.

Los Angeles police Sgt. Frank Albarran said earlier that Haim’s death appeared to be accidental and may have been due to an overdose.

But “the cause of death at this time is unknown,” Mann said. “He had flulike symptoms before the incident. His mother was giving him various over-the-counter medications.”

Haim’s agent, Mark Heaslip, also told CNN’s sister network HLN, “We do not think this is a drug overdose. Corey was actually going very clean in his life.”

I haven’t been aware of Haim doing anything significant at all for some time, other than mooching off of his friends and having occasional drug binges. The biggest shock for me is how young he was — that always bothers me, especially as I get older. That, and it also took me a good hour to figure out which Corey he was, — I’ve always gotten him confused with Corey Feldman, as they’ve done so many bad movies together.

At least with Feldman still alive, there’s still hope for the Goonies sequel.

Advertisements

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: