Free Love and Hollywood Smut Culture

One thing that astonished me most about the Roman Polanski rape case is how many Hollywood stars rushed to his defense. But Hollywood is a bastion of liberalism, embracing the free love and zero-consequence attitudes that were pioneered by ’60 radicals. Gwenneth Paltrow’s recent admission that even she has been propositioned by a casting-couch director only highlights the matter of how degenerate (and blatantly sexist) Hollywood culture is.

John Hawkins at Right Wing News looked over the comments at the above link, and found even more egregious examples of rampant sexual harassment and abuse flooding the Hollywood movie industry:

Nope. It’s true. I was a New York actor for 7 years before moving to L.A. In all my years in New York I was never once propositioned by an agent or casting director. In L.A. I was chased around a desk by one casting director. Another called me up and invited me over for a drink at his place, which I declined. I told this to a couple of actresses I knew who did a lot of TV (mostly as big-boobed babes in sitcoms) and they said to me, “honey, that’s the way it is. You have to F*** if you want to get a part.” I came back to New York. I’m a man, by the way. The casting directors were also male.

Wrong. I am in the profession and EVERY actress I know has been propositioned. One in particular has been directly, unambiguously (and publicly in one case) propositioned by a major Hollywood personality. FYI–a top,top agent, an A list director, and several producers.

All since 2000, btw. If you haven’t seen it, you aren’t in the inside. Obviously.

Are you kidding? I was a temporary assistant to a producer visiting LA from NY and I was pregnant and showing and because he was working out of his hotel room on the Sunset Strip, he did his business lying in bed (a made bed & he was clothed), badgering me to join him. When I wouldn’t he launched into a pitiful story regarding the stress he was under due to personal situations back in NY and that he just needed to cuddle. Repulsive. There is sooooooo much sexism.

This is all terribly true. One of my friends was propositioned by a giant star (now famously retired) and when she refused, she was kicked off the movie. This not only happens to actors who are trying to make their way up, but to stand-ins and extras. On one tv show many years ago (about police who patrol in motorcycles), two of my attractive friends, who had done a lot of stand-in & extra work on this action show, were approached by the assistant director to go out with the star. This meant (and it was well known on the set) that if someone was extended the star’s invitation, it also included the chief stunt gaffer, too. Yep, you had to do them both. If not, well – you lost your job. The end of the story: both my friends declined & were never contacted (by the production manager) for work on this show again.

Hawkins attributes this kind of behavior to a decline of Christianity, while I would argue that there’s a bit more to it than that. Of particular note is the guy who worked as an actor in liberal New York, who said that such behavior doesn’t occur there. I suspect that even though the East coast is liberal, it’s a different kind of liberalism, and that California embodies more of the party-culture leftism, but I could be wrong.

The real issue here is that these leftist mega-stars and producers embody the aristocratic mindset that is inherent among the liberal elite, which says that they are superior to everyone else and hence not beholden to the rules they dictate to others. And in Hollywood, where anyone who does not embody the most extreme leftism is ostracized and branded as a McCarthyite, such behavior is ignored.

To me, the most interesting aspect of this issue is the blatant hypocrisy in the hubristic sexism that is rampant in a community of leftists claiming to represent civil rights and feminism. And there’s also the disturbing fact that these folks are crafting the entertainment our children are exposed to ….

, , , ,

  1. Narinia vs Hollywood « The Republican Heretic

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

